FAQ For Owners
How many years has your company been in business?
Deca Realty was founded in 1990. Our property managers have over 60 years of combined experience.
Are your Property Managers licensed real estate agents?
Yes, as required by the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
What kind of properties do you manage?
Single family homes, multi-families, apartment buildings, associations and commercial real estate. Deca Realty does not own any property, it only manages property.
What areas do you manage?
Deca manages throughout the St. Louis region. We do not manage in Illinois.
What are your fees?
Fees are determined by business development staff based on the level of services requested.
Do you have any guarantees?
Yes, we have a lease time guarantee, eviction guarantee and pet damage guarantee.
Do you provide lease only?
How long is the contract for management?
12 months for the initial term.
If I decide to sell my rental property, can you list it for me?
Yes. Deca is a full service real estate brokerage licensed by the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
Do I have access to property reports?
Deca offers each owner access to our computer software via an owner portal. Access is allowed 24/7 and gives owners access to rent rolls, paid and unpaid bills, financial statements, and work orders.
When do I get paid?
Deca makes owner distributions on the last working day of each month via ACH. It takes 3 business days to post in your account.
How do you advertise my property?
Deca will install a sign in the yard, publish your property on our website, post on Craigslist two times a week, syndicate your listing to over 60 other websites (including Truila, Zillow, and HotPads) and social media (Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.) Over 100,000 people access our property listings annually. Additional options are available to owners who want to do additional advertising. Deca’s advertising helps generate over 3500 leads per month.
Who shows my property?
A listing representative from Deca will be present at each showing. We show 7 days a week.
How long does it take to rent my property?
It differs depending on the time of year, price range, condition of the unit, etc.
How often do you visit my property?
Deca has a walkthrough program that provides a comprehensive report (with pictures) showing the exterior and interior condition of the property. The cost per walkthrough is $75 and the number of times is determined by the property owner.
What bills will Deca pay?
Deca will pay any and all bills related to a property, including mortgages, insurance, taxes, and utilities. (Additional fees for utility handling). Adequate funds are required prior to payment.
Do you have an in-house maintenance crew?
Deca has a fully insured experienced maintenance staff available 24/7.
Using in-house maintenance allows us to respond to issues more quickly and saves the owner money over hiring outside vendors.
Can owners do their own maintenance?
Yes, as long as they do the work in a timely manner. Deca offers an optional call center for owners who do their own maintenance for an additional fee.
What are your hours?
Office hours are 8:30am-4:30pm Monday thru Friday.
Who do I call for maintenance?
For the fastest response, we encourage tenants to put in service requests through your tenant portal. You may also contact our maintenance coordinator during office hours at (314)-446-0277 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Do you have an emergency line?
Yes, call (314)-631-3306 and follow the emergency prompts for after hour emergencies.
What is considered an emergency?
When is my rent considered late?
Rent is due on the 1st and late after the 5th of each month.
How can I pay rent?
- Checking account via tenant portal (free if you set up monthly auto payments or $2 transaction fee for one time payments).
- Credit card via tenant portal ($21 per transaction).
- Cash voucher via your tenant portal – RentMoney takes cash payments and converts them into a secure ACH electronic transaction. For a fee of $3.75 per transaction you can pay cash at any location that accepts CheckFree Pay. All you have to do is generate your cash voucher through your portal and either print the voucher or save an electronic copy to your mobile device and take it to the nearest vendor. You can search for payment centers near you through your portal. Vendors include Wal-Mart, ACE Cash Express and a number of other CheckFree payment center locations in the area.
- Check or Money Order by mail or at our office.
If I am vacating, do I have to give you notice?
You are required by Missouri Landlord Tenant Law to give a full rental period written notice prior to vacating. You can give notice in person, via email, fax, mail, or even through your tenant portal. We highly recommend following up to make sure it was received if you do not do it in person.
How can I get a copy of my lease?
All documents are posted to your portal.
I need a circuit breaker letter for my taxes, how do I get one?
Send a conversation through your portal requesting the document or call us at 314-631-3306 and speak with your property management team.
What are your hours?
Office hours are 8:30am-4:30pm Monday thru Friday. Showings can be scheduled outside of these hours. Deca shows properties 7 days a week.
I am looking to move, where do I start?
- First step is to view our rental criteria
- Once you have viewed our criteria, we encourage you to view our listing of properties on our website. The listing is updated on a daily basis and is always changing.
- When you find a property you are interested in, schedule a viewing to see the inside.
- View our Missouri Broker Disclosure Form
- Apply if you are interested
How much is the application fee?
$45 per applicant and is non-refundable. Application fee is good for 3 months and is transferable to all of our properties, upon approval by the Property Manager. Deca requires anyone over 18 years of age to complete an application.
What does the application fee cover?
This covers the cost of processing your application and obtaining a credit report.
What methods of payment is accepted for an application fee?
- Credit card via online application only ($3 convenience fee per application)
- Check, Money Order or Exact Cash by mail or at our office.
How can I apply?
- Through our website, https://app.propertyware.com/pw/portals/decarealtyco/tenantApplication.action
- In person at our office or by mail
What are the qualifications for being approved for a property (how much money do I have to make)?
Is rent based off of my income?
No, rents are based on market conditions. Deca requires approximately 3 times your monthly net income as the rent payment a month.
What do I need to apply for a property
You will need to fill out an application in person or online, pay a $35 application fee per applicant and provide a copy of your identification, social security card, and proof of income (recent paycheck stubs or award letters).
How long does the application process take?
2 to 5 business days if the application is fully completed, and if needed documents are provided.
Do you accept assistance agencies?
Yes, we do work with rental assistance agencies and Section 8, but it is based on each property individually. Please visit our website www.decarealty.com which indicates the properties that accept Section 8.
What do I do if I am interested in a property, how do I go about making an appointment?
First, we ask you to drive by the property to view the area and neighborhood, then click on “Schedule a Showing Online” through our website (link can also be found under each listing on the website) or call our scheduling line at (314)-310-0323.
Do I have to view the property I am interested in before applying?
No, you do not have to view the property but we strongly encourage that you do.
Can I apply for multiple apartments?
Yes. We have a one-time application fee that is good up to 3 months. However, each property you apply for needs to be reviewed by the Property Manager of that property.
How long can you hold a property?
Deca will hold a property for 30 days after receiving the security deposit. The security deposit is non-refundable if lease is not executed with rental payments commencing within 30 days. If we cannot get an approved municipal inspection by 30 business days of receiving the security deposit, we will refund the security deposit in full (if requested).
How long will my lease be, do you do short term leases?
Our standard lease term is 12 months. 12+ months will be considered. Shorter then 12 months is rare and is at the discretion of the owner. Feel free to call and ask.